About NTF
 Career Links
 Hall of Fame
 Industry Links
 Research & Resources
 Special Events
 Scholarship Winner Resumes

Search this site:


National Tourism Foundation Hall of Fame Inducts Arthur Tauck Jr.

National Tourism Foundation Hall of Fame Inducts Arthur Tauck Jr. (LEXINGTON, Ky.) July 1 – Family, friends and industry colleagues gathered at The Westin New York on May 29 to induct Arthur C. Tauck Jr., into the National Tourism Foundation Hall of Fame. The event, sponsored by Starwood Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and the Canadian Friends of the Foundation, celebrated Tauck’s commitment to the Foundation’s mission. As chairman of the board of Tauck World Discovery and Tauck Holdings based in Westport, Conn., Arthur Tauck is dedicated to volunteering in the travel and tourism industry and promoting education and research. He is also the current chair of both the Travelers Conservation Federation and the Tauck Foundation. His personal travel and tourism contributions include community development, heritage and natural preservation as well as cultural understanding. During the ceremony, Senator Hillary Clinton expressed her best wishes via videotape. As the founding chair of Save America’s Treasures – a national effort designed to protect the country’s cultural treasures -- she commended the Tauck Foundation’s work in preserving historical landmarks such as the Old North Church in Boston and Valley Forge National Historical Park. “By involving their own employees and clients, the Taucks do much, much more than simply preserve the sites,” said Sen. Clinton. “They engage new citizens who can continue the work of protecting the historical sites that they and all Americans love.” Tauck’s daughter Robin Tauck, current president of Tauck World Discovery, praised him for being a role model. “You have taught us to care and to give back and to build a better future and that’s the greatest gift of all,” she said. Following Tauck’s example, his family and staff donated $11,000 to the Foundation in his honor. Their contributions will help fund the educational pursuits of recipients who will be known as Tauck Scholars. Upon induction, Arthur Tauck paid tribute his family and peers for their many gifts. “The knowledge that I have gained during my lifetime in this industry really came from other people,” he said. “Thank you for helping me to share your wisdom.” The Foundation Hall of Fame was created in 1998 as a means of recognizing individuals who are committed to furthering the Foundation’s mission. These individuals have contributed to the Foundation as a volunteer or through a financial commitment. Past Hall of Fame inductees include James Host, Host Communications; Lois Anderson, Gadabout Tours; Bruce Beckham, Beckham’s Travel Masters; Dane Cornell, ABC Bus Companies; Mary Lee, Mary Lee Tours; Ruth McKinney, CTP, Goodwill Tours; Marilane Spencer, CTP, Bixler Tours; Murray Vidockler, Society for the Advancement of Travelers with Handicaps; Ed Hall, CTP, Greater Rochester Visitors Association; and Eric Freidheim, Travel Agent Magazine. The National Tourism Foundation is a non-profit organization that supports research and education in travel and tourism. For more than 20 years, the National Tourism Foundation has awarded more than $1.5 million to travel and tourism students in the form of grants, scholarships and awards. For more information, contact the Foundation at 800-682-8886.